The breakfast Club

I got to know this movie probably too late or maybe it was at the right time… it was in 2005 when at the MTV awards the band Yellowcard played “Don’t you (forget about me)” of Simple minds, there they did a tribute to “The breakfast Club”. And the thing that caught my eye was the dialogs that at that time and even -some of them- at this moment they feel so close. As if someone is whispering them to me in my ear. One year later I bought a set of three movies from the 80’s. I bought it just because among them, it was the one I saw in pieces long ago. Although I do not consider it my favorite movie, it is one of those that you do not regret to have it in a shelf so you can watch it any time you want. It is a movie of teenagers for teenagers that achieve to capture that young essence with humor and emotion.

When I watched it, I felt -somewhat- identified with all of them… I believe that it was because even if all the characters were different between them there was something that united them; it was the simple fact of being young and feeling uncomfortable with themselves and their own situation, that feeling of loneliness, of being misunderstood and wanting to escape  or even to stop living. I liked many phrases threw out in a casual and deep dialogue. One I remember is “When you grow up your heart dies” strong … and now I see more clearly the world and what people make of it I start to think that maybe the heart itself dies and there are few people who actually care about this. Very few.

Other good thing in the movie is at the beginning of it, that shows a part of the song “Changes” of Davie Bowie, and boom!, before the movie even started you are already thinking…

“And these children that you spit on. As they try to change their worlds. Are immune to your consultations. They’re quite aware of what they’re going through…”

Ch ch ch ch changes!

Imagen

Leave a Reply

