Paestum

After the sea, we went to Paestum. The old Greek city. So without knowing it, I could see something from Greece without leaving Italy. It has three huge ruins that you can see from outside the small protecting fence. Across the street there is the museum with some of the items found in this city. The best known is the painting from a tomb. A man jumping (like a nail) to water.

When I saw the paintings I was not that impressed but then I read what it meant and had to go back to the room where I was to really admire them. Specially the one with the man jumping. It is jumping to death. But the drawing is just a tree, water, pillars and a jumping man. No more, then gives you a strange feeling. After the museum I went to see the ruins and in them I saw many happy couples taking their wedding photos. I found it funny.

Leave a Reply

