The problem with english

A lot of people have told me that I have a good english level. That for being “mexican” I speak quite good. I have always believed that I sound like a moron. Talking with other volunteers we ended up discussing that issue; how English helps us to communicate with each other but not being our mother tongue restricts us and we cannot show our true self, at least not with all the words. And I remembered that phrase from the book “The Invisible Circus”: “In English I’m not myself, in English I have no color”.

And it’s true, there have been too many times I can’t say exactly what I mean, I can not express how I feel with the right words, mostly everything is in good, bad, cool… And it always lack a word and we ended up showing only a part of us.

Leave a Reply

