PERURAIL and Aguas Calientes (Machu Picchu village)

First we had to take a half hour bus that would take us to the train station. There we would jump in at the famous PERURAIL to Aguas Calientes (Machu Picchu village). When I got on the train I saw that a man was sitting in my seat because he wanted to be with his wife, I said nothing and sat on another seat nearby. Diosy and Aldo sat together. It turned out better because next to me an elderly gentleman who was from Belgium sat down (I don’t remember his name but we talked all the way). He told me of his travels, his wife, his friend -and now partner- and of his life in general. He asked about me, about what I did on Mexico. It was an interesting exchange.

PERURAIL

When we got to the town, I said goodbye of the man and we walked to our hostel. We settled in and went for a walk. Aguas Calientes is a lovely village, really small but it feels different to be there. It really do, you can feel something that feeds you. Aldo also loved it and told me the same, it felt different.

Aguas Calientes, Perú

 

El trío en Aguas Calientes.

Aguas Calientes is known for its thermal baths (to which we do not enter). The village resembles to Huacachina in the sense that it is surrounded by mountains (the other is surrounded by dunes). When I was in Huacachina, I looked up and I saw the Dunes to any direction you look you will see piles of sand hugging you. In Aguas Calientes have the mountains, huge ones that can protect you from the world. It’s like being imprisoned in a magical place, far from everything. And you looked up and saw the mountains and the starry sky.

That day we went to walk around the town, we saw its streets, the train and the life pass by. There was a Peruvian band singing peruvian songs. We had some lunch and a beer, a “Cusqueña” (I always say whenever you go to another country you have to drink the national beer). That day we also bought the ticket for the bus to Machu Picchu and we send a postcard home. We walked around the markets that are flooded with “souvenirs” we bought some keychains and what we could with our budget.

Machu Picchu pueblo (Aguas Calientes).

At night, before going to the hostel to sleep, we went to buy food supplies for the next day. We went to a grocery store and bought cookies and things like that. Behind me there were four lovely little girls who took time to choose a sweet for the four of them. When I had to pay I took the sweet they had and paid it. They thanked me and left the store. When I came out I saw them waiting. Aldo, Diosy and I took advantage of it to take pictures and ask their names. Linda, Joselyn, Kindali and Angela. Those were the little girls names, and we notice that Kindali was the leader.

Diosy y yo con Kindali, Linda, Angela y  Jocelyn.

We arrived at the hostel and arrange everything. We’d have to get up very early in the morning to catch the bus that we would take to go to Machu Picchu. I was still sick with stomach-age and I threw up that night. Which made ​​me happy because that feeling of nausea went almost all away. 

Leave a Reply

