My opinion and quotes of/from Kafka on the shore – Haruki Murakami

Most of the books that I have wrote in this blog (my personal little reviews) are from this writer; Haruki Murakami. There was a moment when I believed I had found somebody to called “my favorite” but after reading Kafka on the shore I can say that even though I will continue to read books of Murakami because I do like him, I cannot call him my favorite. The last two books I have read of him never caught me and I lasted a long time “reading” them. This one, specially.

Kafka on the shore can sometime become a little tedious, at the beginning it got my attention and I wanted to keep on reading it so I could answer some questions that at the end I couldn’t even got the complete answers. But then a moment arrives in when I was reading and reading and I couldn’t find any sense to it. Kafka on the shore invites you to a surreal world where the characters seem to live in parallel worlds, all trying to open and close doors. Perhaps what it should be done when reading a book like this is, keep reading and, because as Hoshino, a character in the novel said “It’s a waste of time trying to make sense of things that do not.” When someone reads Murakami that person should be aware that a dream world can become a real one or, at least, interspersed.

I liked the characters, I think that’s something that I like about Murakami is  the way he creates pleasant persons to oneself. Characters that despite of been different from you, you manage to find something in them and identify with them.

Kafka on the shore - Haruki Murakami - Kafka en la orilla

Some of the quotes that I wrote down from the book:

You are going to have ti get a lot tougher if you want to make it.

Things you never could imagine.

Sometimes fates is like a small sandstorm that keeps changing directions.

The facts and techniques or whatever they tech you in class isn’t going to be very useful in the real world.

I felt utterly alone, like I was the last person alive on Earth. I can’t describe that feeling of total loneliness. I just wanted to disappear into thin air and not think about anything.

For all I know maybe she’s not so wild about her own looks, but she seems comfortable with who she is, and that’s the important thing.

In traveling, a companion, in life, compassion.

That chance encounters are what keep us going.

We’re coming from somewhere, heading somewhere else.

Even chance meetings… are the result of karma.

That thing in life are fated by our previous lives. That even in the smallest events there’s no such thing as coincidence.

Like the clouds floating across the sky, I’m all by myself, totally free.

I’ve got to bend some rules myself if I want to survive.

Solitude comes in different varieties.

I yank off my headphones and listen. I discover, is something you can actually hear.

Closing your eyes isn’t going to change anything. Nothing’s going to disappear just because you can’t see what’s going on.

Just a few steps is all it takes for everything associated with it to lose all sense of reality.

It felt pretty good to be walking around wherever he wanted in a place he’d never been before.

People are born in order to live, right? But the longer I’ve lived, the more I’ve lost what’s inside me- and ended up empty.

I don’t know what to do anymore. I don’t even know what direction I’m facing in. What’s right, what’s wrong – whether I should keep on going ahead or turn around. I’m totally lost.

Pointless thinking is worse than no thinking at all.

I’m not afraid anymore. That’s why I  chose to be totally defenseless.

I don’t know what it means to live.

Don’t forget what I told you about bayonets… when you stab the enemy, you’ve got to twist and slash, to cut his guts open. Otherwise he’ll do it to you. That’s the way the world is outside.

Fate is one strange thing, man.

I’m the one who chose this path, and I’ve got to see it through to the end.

People are mostly a product of where they were born and raised.

The world is a metaphor.

I want you to remember me… if you remember me, then I don’t care if anyone else forgets.

But I still don’t know anything about life.

You finally fall asleep. And when you wake up, it’s true. You are part of a brand-new world.

 

 

Leave a Reply

