Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel García Márquez

First of all I have to say that the book title sounds so much better in spanish. And now… with that been said. Let’s start:

This is the first book I read of Gabriel García Márquez, I know… Kill me. The truth is that I never got the interest on it, I remember I once read the first page of “One Hundred Years of Solitude” (Which name also does sound better in spanish), and I put the book back were I found it and leave. Well.. after reading Love in the Time of Cholera I am sure interested in continue reading book of GGM.

If you haven’t heard about Gabriel García Márquez live in a cave. He is one of the best Latin american writers and writers in general, and even though he is dead his name keeps shouting. Now, I am not going to lie, it took me a while to read it, the first twenty/thirty pages were a little dull to me, after it, little by little and almost without noticing, my mind was in that time and the lively interest of it arrived like a sparkle and it became fire. I read it immersed in the world of love, agony, caresses and travel. Did I liked it? Yes, certainly .

“Love in the Time of Cholera” tells the story of Fermina Daza, Florentino Ariza and Dr. Juvenal Urbino. It tells how Florentino falls in love with Fermina Daza in a pure way and gives his heart to her for a lifetime. His love begins epistolary, and becomes very strong that fills their souls but ultimately the love she had for him vanished. It was an innocent, young love that in the end did not happen. She makes his life with Dr. Urbino and Florentino waits until the life reattach.

I started reading this book because I knew it was time to read some of the great Gabo, and also because I’ll soon go to Colombia I said to me that it would be appropriate. I dabbled a bit with the Caribbean heat and eat eggplants of love as I read; yes,I met some of the land of forgetfulness.

El amor en los tiempos de cólera

Leave a Reply

