Guatemala, I like you but I do not love you.

Written on march 20, 2016.

I know it’s not over yet and with 8 days I cannot see much of a country but so far I say:

“Guatemala, I like you but I do not love you”

I like your people with their ‘Good mornings’ and their desire to help, I like your landscapes, mountains and volcanoes, I like your old city ‘Antigua’ with its colonial streets and ancient customs, but all of this does not manage to enchant me. Today it was a bad day in your land, with thieves, swindlers and lies that took us from Herod to Pilate, with expats living arrogantly in your Latin American soil and animals that frighten and bite.

Please Guatemala, teach me what you have that made me want to see you, show me your charms and make me want to return.

 

Leave a Reply

